23041
home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-23041,qode-social-login-1.1.3,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-2.3,select-child-theme-ver-1.1,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,paspartu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,header_top_hide_on_mobile,,qode_grid_1300,qode_menu_center,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Käte Hamburger Research Centre Dis:connectivity in Processes of Globalisation

As a nationally and internationally prominent location of humanities research, the Centre will enable the humanities to impart, to interpret, and to communicate the complex mechanisms and social significance of past and present globalisation processes beyond the boundaries of particular academic disciplines and in easily accessible terms.

Dis:connectivity

By investigating global dis:connections, the Centre is inaugurating a new field of research. It emphasises the role of delays and detours, of interruptions and resistances, of the active absence of connections in global contexts and investigates their social significance.

We are convinced that past and present dynamics of globalisation cannot adequately be understood without taking account of the disconnective qualities that inhere in them, which is an approach that has yet to be pursued systematically.

The work of the Centre’s staff and fellows broadens the prevailing perspective on global interdependencies and contributes to the appreciation and — in the final analysis — the malleability of globalisation, which is long overdue. To this end, the Centre productively combines the analytical approaches of the humanities and the arts to fully mobilise their explanatory and constructive potential.

CENTRE

Header-2---Kolleg

The Käte Hamburger Research Centre Dis:Connectivity in Processes of Globalisation (global dis:connect) examines the relationship of global integration and disintegration in current and historical processes of globalisation. The Centre emphasises the indispensability of the humanities in globalisation research.

MORE INFO

FELLOWS

FELLOWS Webster_Free_Circulating_Library_NYC_NYPL

The cornerstone of the Centre is the international fellowship programme, in which approximately ten scholars and artists will be invited to Munich every twelve months.

MORE INFO

TRANSFER

Header-4---TransferLab

The Centre includes an in-house TransferLab, where new forms of disseminating knowledge and scholarship are developed and tested. The Centre innovates and demonstrates means and forms cooperation among the arts, culture, and politics.

MORE INFO

FOCUS

To demarcate the field, we initially distinguish three basic forms of dis:connection that play a crucial role in historical and current processes of globalisation and that structure the Centre’s work in the first phase:

 

Interruptions
Absences
Detours

 

 

It requires a particular methodological approach that combines a range of methods from the humanities with those from arts studies and practice, bringing these into dialogue with each other.

Interruptions

Engine Room

Hardly any global connection is continuously, uniformly enduring. Most processes of integration are cyclical, sometimes gathering momentum rapidly, sometimes slowly, and sometimes losing momentum entirely.

MORE INFO

Absences

Header 3 - Forschung

Absence marks processes of globalisation as much as presence, invisibility as much as visibility. As the connections that drive technological and economic globalisation become tighter and more diverse, they broaden the resulting gaps and marginalisations.

MORE INFO

Detours

Faluja

A detour is an undesired, often unintended, longer and usually more arduous route to a destination. Detours coincide with stagnation, delay and waiting. They come into sharp relief in the history of migration, which shows that detours and the impeded mobility they induce inhere in all migratory movements of the past and present.

MORE INFO

Directors

Together, Christopher Balme, Burcu Dogramaci, and Roland Wenzlhuemer lead the Käte Hamburger Research Centre Dis:connectivity in Processes of Globalisation. The three directors come from the disciplines of theatre studies, art history and history, respectively. This combination reflects the Centre’s methodological approach and underscores its transdisciplinary ambition.

Prof. Dr. Christopher Balme

Balme_presseLMU_jan_greune

Chair of Theatre Studies in the School of Arts

MORE INFO

Prof. Dr. Burcu Dogramaci

Dogramaci,-Foto-Simone-Scardovelli

Chair of Art History, focusing on modern and contemporary art

MORE INFO

Prof. Dr. Roland Wenzlhuemer

Wenzlhuemer

Chair of Modern and Contemporary History in the Department of History

MORE INFO

19843
home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-19843,qode-social-login-1.1.3,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-2.3,select-child-theme-ver-1.1,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,paspartu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,header_top_hide_on_mobile,,qode_grid_1300,qode_menu_center,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Käte Hamburger Kolleg
Dis:konnektivität als neuer Ansatz in der Globalisierungsforschung

Das an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München angesiedelte Käte Hamburger Kolleg „Dis:konnektivität in Globalisierungsprozessen“ untersucht Mechanismen vergangener und gegenwärtiger Globalisierungsprozesse. Die Arbeit des Kolleg soll helfen, Globalisierungsprozesse in ihrer Bedeutung für menschliche Lebenswelten zu verstehen und diese nachhaltig zu gestalten.

Dis:konnektivität

Mit der Untersuchung globaler Dis:konnektivität erschließt das Kolleg ein neues Forschungsfeld. Es betont die Rolle von Verzögerungen und Umwegen, von Unterbrechungen und Widerständen, von der aktiven Abwesenheit von Verbindungen in globalen Zusammenhängen und untersucht ihre gesellschaftliche Bedeutung.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass Globalisierungsdynamiken in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart nicht adäquat verstanden werden können, ohne die ihnen innewohnenden diskonnektiven Qualitäten zu berücksichtigen. Dies ist bislang noch nicht systematisch geschehen.

Die Arbeit der Fellows und Mitarbeitenden am Kolleg erweitert die vorherrschende Perspektive auf globale Verflechtungsprozesse grundlegend und leistet einen überfälligen Beitrag zum Verständnis – und damit letztlich zur Gestaltbarkeit – von Globalisierung. Dazu führt das Kolleg die analytischen Zugänge der Geisteswissenschaften und der Künste produktiv zusammen, um so deren erklärendes und gestaltendes Potenzial vollständig zu mobilisieren.

KOLLEG

Header-2---Kolleg

Das Käte Hamburger Kolleg „Dis:konnektivität in Globalisierungsprozessen“ (global dis:connect) untersucht das Verhältnis von globaler Verflechtung und Entflechtung in historischen und gegenwärtigen Globalisierungsprozessen. Das Kolleg unterstreicht die grundlegende Bedeutung der Geisteswissenschaften in der Globalisierungsforschung.

MEHR INFO

FELLOWS

FELLOWS Webster_Free_Circulating_Library_NYC_NYPL

Das Herzstück des Kollegs ist das internationale Fellowship-Programm, in dessen Rahmen pro Kollegjahr ca. zehn Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen nach München eingeladen werden.

MEHR INFO

TRANSFER

Header-4---TransferLab

Das Kolleg unterhält ein eigenes TransferLab, in dem neue Formen der Wissens- und Wissenschaftsvermittlung entwickelt und erprobt werden. Das Kolleg zeigt Formen und Wege der Zusammenarbeit mit Kunst, Kultur und Politik auf.

MEHR INFO

Schwerpunkte

Das Kolleg geht von drei grundlegenden Formen von Dis:konnektivität aus, die in historischen und gegenwärtigen Globalisierungsprozessen von prägender Bedeutung sind und die Arbeit im Kolleg strukturieren werden:

 

Unterbrechungen
Abwesenheiten
Umwege

 

 

Diese Zugänge sollen in einer innovativen Verbindung von geisteswissenschaftlichen und ästhetischen Ansätzen erschlossen werden, die explizit auch die Einbindung von künstlerischer Forschung fördert.

Unterbrechungen

Engine Room

Kaum eine globale Verbindung ist durchgehend und gleichmäßig beständig. Die meisten Verflechtungsprozesse haben Konjunkturen, entwickeln sich mal schnell, mal langsam oder kommen gar zum Erliegen: Verbindungen funktionieren nur für einen bestimmten Zweck, nicht aber für einen anderen. Oder sie werden überhaupt radikal gekappt.

MEHR INFO

Abwesenheiten

Header 3 - Forschung

Globalisierungsprozesse sind ebenso durch Abwesenheit wie durch Präsenz, durch Unsichtbarkeit wie durch Sichtbarkeit gekennzeichnet. Je eng verknüpfter und vielfältiger die Verbindungen sind, die eine technologisch und ökonomisch getriebene Globalisierung herstellt, umso größer werden die Lücken und Marginalisierungen, die sich auftun.

MEHR INFO

Umwege

Faluja

Umwege sind unerwünschte, oft nicht beabsichtigte Wegführungen, die einen längeren und zumeist umständlichen Weg zum Ziel bedeuten. Umwege gehen einher mit Stagnation, Verzögerung, Warten. Das lässt sich unter anderem in der Emigrationsgeschichte veranschaulichen, die zeigt, dass Umwege und die durch sie ausgelöste verzögerte Mobilität allen Emigrationsbewegungen in Geschichte und Gegenwart inhärent sind.

MEHR INFO

Leitung

Das Käte Hamburger Kolleg „Dis:konnektivität in Globalisierungprozessen“ wird gemeinsam Christopher Balme, Burcu Dogramaci und Roland Wenzlhuemer geleitet. Die drei Direktor*innen kommen aus den Disziplinen der Theaterwissenschaft, der Kunstgeschichte und der Geschichtswissenschaft. Diese Zusammensetzung spiegelt den methodischen Zugriff des Kollegs wider und betont seinen transdisziplinären Anspruch.

Prof. Dr. Christopher Balme

Balme_presseLMU_jan_greune

Professur für Theaterwissenschaft am Department Kunstwissenschaften

MEHR INFO

Prof. Dr. Burcu Dogramaci

Dogramaci,-Foto-Simone-Scardovelli

Professur für Kunstgeschichte mit Schwerpunkt Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Gegenwart am Department Kunstwissenschaften

MEHR INFO

Prof. Dr. Roland Wenzlhuemer

Wenzlhuemer

Professur für Neuere und Neueste Geschichte am Historischen Seminar

MEHR INFO